Emeritus

Fields of interest
Ivo Banac
Bradford Durfee Professor Emeritus
ivo.banac@yale.edu
Beatrice S. Bartlett
Professor Emeritus
beatrice.bartlett@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0230
Jon Butler
Howard R Lamar Emeritus Professor of American Studies, History & Religious Studies
jon.butler@yale.edu
Phone: 612 331-3236
Emilia Viotti da Costa
Professor Emeritus History
emilia.dacosta@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1366
David Brion Davis
Sterling Professor of American History, Emeritus; Director, Emeritus, Gilder Lehrman Center
david.b.davis@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 432-3339

18th and 19th century American, British and Atlantic intellectual and cultural history; slavery and abolition

John Demos
Samuel Knight Professor Emeritus History
john.demos@yale.edu
Laura Engelstein
Henry S. McNeil Professor Emerita of Russian History
laura.engelstein@yale.edu

East European: Modern Russia; Modern Europe

John Faragher
Howard R. Lamar Prof of History & American Studies, Director Howard R. Lamar Center
john.faragher@yale.edu

U.S.: United States frontier & western history; Native American borderlands; Native American history

Maija Jansson
Visiting Fellow
maija.jansson@yale.edu

Parliamentary history

Donald Kagan
Sterling Professor of Classics & History
donald.kagan@yale.edu

Ancient: Ancient Greek & Roman history; Political thought & diplomacy

Daniel Kevles
Stanley Woodward Professor Emeritus of History, History of Medicine & American Studies; Adjunct Professor, Law School
daniel.kevles@yale.edu

HSHM: US since 1939; Politics, government, science, technology & national security; Eugenics; Genetics; Biotechnology; Intellectual property; Plant & animal breeding

Howard Lamar
Sterling Professor Emeritus of History; Former President
howard.lamar@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1371
Bentley Layton
Frederic & Laura Goff Professor of Religious Studies; Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations and History
bentley.layton@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0844

Ancient Christianity

Ramsay MacMullen
Dunham Professor Emeritus History & Classics
ramsay.macmullen@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4593

Ancient Roman, religion in Roman empire, early Church

John Matthews
John M. Schiff Professor Emeritus of Classics & History
john.matthews@yale.edu

Ancient: Late Roman social, economic & legal

Pages