Faculty

All

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | W
Fields of interest
David Engerman's picture David Engerman
Leitner International Interdisciplinary Professor of History
david.engerman@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-5029

Twentieth-century international history

Crystal Feimster's picture Crystal Feimster
Associate Professor African American Studies, American Studies and History
crystal.feimster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3563

African American studies; racial and sexual violence

Paul Freedman's picture Paul Freedman
Chester D. Tripp Professor of History
paul.freedman@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1399

Medieval European history

Joanne Freeman's picture Joanne Freeman
Professor of History and American Studies
joanne.freeman@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1392

Revolutionary & Early National American history with special interest in politics & culture; Early American journalism & print culture

John Gaddis's picture John Gaddis
Robert A. Lovett Professor of Military & Naval History
john.gaddis@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1374

Cold War history; Historical methodology; Biography; Grand Strategy

Beverly Gage's picture Beverly Gage
Professor of History & American Studies; Brady-Johnson Professor of Grand Strategy
beverly.gage@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1356

Gilded Age and 20th century; political history; government and political development; ideology and social movements (esp. conservatism and radicalism)

Glenda Gilmore's picture Glenda Gilmore
Peter V & C Vann Woodward Professor of History
glenda.gilmore@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1398

20th century United States history; African American history since 1865; U.S. women’s & gender history since 1865; History of the American South; Reform movements

Bruce Gordon's picture Bruce Gordon
Titus Street Prof of Theology, Prof of Reformation Hist, Div Schl and History and Religious Studies
bruce.gordon@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5355

Early German Reformation; History of Christianity

Valerie Hansen's picture Valerie Hansen
Stanley Woodward Professor of History
valerie.hansen@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0480

China to 1600; Chinese religious & legal history; History of the Silk Road

Robert Harms's picture Robert Harms
Henry J. Heinz Professor of History & African Studies
robert.harms@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0559

Sub-Saharan Africa

Denise Y. Ho's picture Denise Y. Ho
Assistant Professor of History
denise.ho@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 436-9291

Modern China, Cultural Revolution, material culture, urban history

Matthew Jacobson's picture Matthew Jacobson
William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies & History
matthew.jacobson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0531

US cultural history; 19th & 20th century immigration, ethnicity & race; US expansionism

Gilbert Joseph's picture Gilbert Joseph
Farnam Professor of History & International Studies
gilbert.joseph@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1380

Modern Latin American history; Mexican & Central American history; US-Latin American relations; social & revolutionary movements in Latin America; Sports in Latin America

Paul Kennedy's picture Paul Kennedy
J. Richardson Dilworth Professor of History; Director, International Security Studies
paul.kennedy@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6242

Great power relations, 19th & 20th centuries; Military & naval history; British foreign & imperial history; Contemporary global security issues; United Nations history

Ben Kiernan's picture Ben Kiernan
A. Whitney Griswold Professor of History; Professor of International & Area Studies, MacMillan Center; Founding Director of the Genocide Studies Program (1994-2015); Chair, Council on Southeast Asia Studies (2010-15)
ben.kiernan@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2870

World History; Southeast Asia, early & modern especially Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia & East Timor; Comparative colonialism; Nationalism; Communism; Genocide; Environmental history