Faculty

All

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | W | Z
Fields of interest
Jennifer Allen's picture Jennifer Allen
Assistant Professor of History
jennifer.allen@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-6149

Modern German history; cultural history of modern Europe; theories and practices of memory; grassroots activism; the politics of space; Europe after the Cold War

Abbas Amanat's picture Abbas Amanat
William Graham Sumner Professor of History; Director, Yale Program in Iranian Studies
abbas.amanat@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1368

Modern Middle East, early modern and modern Iran, Sh’ism and the Persianate world

Sunil Amrith's picture Sunil Amrith
Renu and Anand Dhawan Professor of History
sunil.amrith@yale.edu

Modern South Asian, Southeast Asian and Indian Ocean history; the history of migration and diasporas; environmental history, especially the history of water and climate; the history of port cities

Sergei Antonov's picture Sergei Antonov
Assistant Professor
sergei.antonov@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1378

Russia after 1800 and Soviet Union; Russian and comparative legal history; Russian serfdom; global history of capitalism and credit; crime & criminal justice; secret political police; elites & power

Lauren Benton's picture Lauren Benton
Barton M. Biggs Professor of History and Professor of Law
lauren.benton@yale.edu

Comparative empires; history of international law; Atlantic history; global and international history; British and Iberian empires

Paola Bertucci's picture Paola Bertucci
Associate Professor of History and History of Medicine; Curator of the History of Science and Technology Division, Peabody Museum; Director of Graduate Studies HSHM (Spring 2021)
paola.bertucci@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1397

Enlightenment; cultural history of technology in the early modern world, cultures of collecting and display; artisanal knowledge, the early modern body, scientific travel, material culture

Ned Blackhawk's picture Ned Blackhawk
Professor of History and American Studies
ned.blackhawk@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8530

Native American history & Native American law

David Blight's picture David Blight
Sterling Professor of History, of African American Studies, and of American Studies
david.blight@yale.edu
Phone: +1 432-8521, 432-3339

Civil War & Reconstruction era; African American history; American cultural & intellectual history

Daniel Botsman's picture Daniel Botsman
Professor of History
daniel.botsman@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-3197

Japanese history

Paul Bushkovitch's picture Paul Bushkovitch
Reuben Post Halleck Prof of History
paul.bushkovitch@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1351

Russia to 1800; Russian foreign policy, Orthodoxy, and empire

Deborah Coen's picture Deborah Coen
Professor of History and History of Science & Medicine; Chair & DGS, HSHM (Fall 2020)
deborah.coen@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-8100

History of the modern physical and environmental sciences; Central European intellectual and cultural history

Rohit De's picture Rohit De
Associate Professor
rohit.de@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4233

Modern South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh), Global Legal History, Law and Society, Law and Colonialism, British Empire, Nationalism and Decolonization in Asia and Africa, Comparative Constitutionalism

Carolyn Dean's picture Carolyn Dean
Charles J. Stille Professor of History and French
carolyn.dean@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (401) 3389856

Cultural and intellectual history of modern Europe; history of gender and sexuality; genocide studies and the Holocaust of European Jewry

Fabian Drixler's picture Fabian Drixler
Professor of History; Senior Essay Director
fabian.drixler@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1388

Japanese history; Demographic history around the world

Marcela Echeverri Munoz's picture Marcela Echeverri Munoz
Associate Professor
marcela.echeverri@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6218

History of social sciences, gender and nationalism; political theory and state formation; Spanish empire and Atlantic world; Revolutionary Age, race and ethnicity; slavery and abolition; twentieth-century Latin American social thought