Emeritus

Fields of interest
Jean-Christophe Agnew's picture Jean-Christophe Agnew
Professor Emeritus of American Studies & History
jean-christophe.agnew@yale.edu

American cultural & intellectual history; 19th & 20th centuries; Market relations & consumer culture; Cultural theory

Adel Allouche's picture Adel Allouche
Lecturer Emeritus, History and Religious Studies
adel.allouche@yale.edu

Middle East: Medieval Middle Eastern history; Islamic history

Abbas Amanat's picture Abbas Amanat
William Graham Sumner Professor of History Emeritus; Director, Yale Program in Iranian Studies
abbas.amanat@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1368

Modern Middle East, early modern and modern Iran, Sh’ism and the Persianate world

Beatrice S. Bartlett's picture Beatrice S. Bartlett
Professor Emeritus
beatrice.bartlett@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0230
Jon Butler's picture Jon Butler
Howard R Lamar Emeritus Professor of American Studies, History & Religious Studies
jon.butler@yale.edu
Phone: 612 331-3236
Annping Chin's picture Annping Chin
Senior Lecturer Emeritus
annping.chin@yale.edu

Asia: Chinese intellectual history; Confucianism; pre-modern Chinese history; Chinese cultural history 1500-1800; Studies in Chinese classical texts

John Demos's picture John Demos
Samuel Knight Professor Emeritus History
john.demos@yale.edu
Laura Engelstein's picture Laura Engelstein
Henry S. McNeil Professor Emerita of Russian History
laura.engelstein@yale.edu

East European: Modern Russia; Modern Europe

John Faragher's picture John Faragher
Howard R. Lamar Prof Emeritus of History & American Studies, Director Howard R. Lamar Center
john.faragher@yale.edu

U.S.: United States frontier & western history; Native American borderlands; Native American history

Glenda Gilmore's picture Glenda Gilmore
Peter V & C Vann Woodward Professor Emeritus of History
glenda.gilmore@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1398

20th century United States history; African American history since 1865; U.S. women’s & gender history since 1865; History of the American South; Reform movements

Maija Jansson's picture Maija Jansson
Visiting Fellow
maija.jansson@yale.edu

Parliamentary history

Gilbert Joseph's picture Gilbert Joseph
Farnam Professor Emeritus of History
gilbert.joseph@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1380

Modern Latin American history; Mexican & Central American history; US-Latin American relations; social & revolutionary movements in Latin America; Sports in Latin America

Donald Kagan's picture Donald Kagan
Sterling Professor Emeritus of Classics & History
donald.kagan@yale.edu

Ancient: Ancient Greek & Roman history; Political thought & diplomacy

Daniel Kevles's picture Daniel Kevles
Stanley Woodward Professor Emeritus of History, History of Medicine & American Studies; Adjunct Professor, Law School
daniel.kevles@yale.edu

HSHM: US since 1939; Politics, government, science, technology & national security; Eugenics; Genetics; Biotechnology; Intellectual property; Plant & animal breeding

Howard Lamar's picture Howard Lamar
Sterling Professor Emeritus of History; Former President
howard.lamar@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1371